Craig Foster says most controversial World Cup penalty should NOT have been awarded to Portugal

Craig Foster says most controversial World Cup penalty should NOT have been awarded to Portugal – and calls for rule change before superstar player gets injured

Former Socceroos star and SBS analyst Craig Foster has questioned whether players have to intentionally injure themselves to avoid forfeiting a penalty after a controversial VAR ruling in Portugal’s World Cup game against Portugal. Uruguay.

With Portugal leading 1-0 in extra time, Uruguayan defender Jose Gimenez slipped into the box trying to defend an attacking raid from Bruno Fernandes.

As he fell, he used his arm for protection and touched the ball in the process.

Uruguayan Jose Maria Gimenez handles the ball in the box and concedes a penalty during the FIFA World Cup match between Portugal and Uruguay

Iran official Alireza Faghani sent the decision to VAR where it was determined that Gimenez had committed a handball and Fernandes calmly scored the penalty for the final score of 2-0.

But Faghani and VAR were criticized for the decision by Foster and football fans around the world as players should have the right to protect themselves if they go down.

“Gimenez tries to discuss, where else is he going to put his hand? asked commentator Lucy Ward.

“He tried to balance himself and blocked the shot.”

Uruguayan Jose Gimenez, right, argues with referee Alireza Faghani over the controversial decision which was sent to VAR

Uruguayan Jose Gimenez, right, argues with referee Alireza Faghani over the controversial decision which was sent to VAR

Co-commentator David Stowell replied: “Those in Uruguay are furious.”

The International Football Association Board changed the rules for handball in 2019 with a number of key accolades.

They include that a penalty will not be given if:

The ball touches a player’s hand/arm close to his body and has not abnormally enlarged his figure or;

A player falls and the ball hits their hand/arm when it is between their body and the ground (but not extended to enlarge the body).

SBS analyst and former Australian Aston Villa, Manchester United and Chelsea goalkeeper Mark Boschich explained the new rules in more detail:

“It’s not an offense if the ball hits a player or an arm… when a player falls and the hand or arm is between the body and the ground to support the body, which was Gimenez’s” , did he declare.

“But not extending laterally or vertically from the body. So he may have pinged the latter, extending it vertically, but I think that’s incredibly harsh.

Former Socceroo and SBS analyst Craig Foster believes players have a right to protect themselves and it shouldn't have been a punishment

Former Socceroo and SBS analyst Craig Foster believes players have a right to protect themselves and it shouldn’t have been a punishment

Foster said the part of the rule stating that a player cannot brace with a vertical arm was questionable and should not have been a penalty.

“What the rule basically says is that when players fall and go to the ground, they should be allowed to protect themselves and put their arm down rather than just taking the hit to the body,” he said. he declares.

“For the safety of the players, what he did is perfectly fine and so I think it’s very questionable. What else will he do?

“He falls, he has nowhere to put his hand.

‘Was it slow enough to make her wave her hand and say I’m gonna somehow [intentionally hit the ball]? No it was not.

“At the end of the day, I don’t think it should have been a penalty, but nevertheless, the Portuguese fans don’t care anyway.” The Uruguayans will.

Most neutral fans thought Gimenez had been roughed up.

‘It’s so unfair ! ‘Handball’ by Uruguay and penalty in Portugal – the guy slipped in a total accident – so now it’s 2-0 in Portugal, you’d feel drained if you were Uruguayan – gutted,’ the presenter said Sky News sportswoman, Jacquie Beltrao.

“The sport we played and loved is dead. FIFA is responsible for this. The handball the referee gave against Uruguay is proof of that,’ said an Argentine fan.

“An absolute stench of a VAR decision to give Portugal a penalty against Uruguay. And that goal could still cost Uruguay a place in the next round,” said ESPN editor Dale Johnson.

Leave a Comment