SL vs AFG 2022 – Sri Lanka recall Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara for Afghan ODIs

SL vs AFG 2022 – Sri Lanka recall Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara for Afghan ODIs

With one day to go before the first ODI, Sri Lanka have finally announced a 15-man squad for their three-game home series against Afghanistan. Four inclusions have been made in the squad that faced Australia earlier this year, with Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Ashen Bandara and Lahiru Kumara earning recalls.

This means there is no room for Chamika Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Nuwan Thushara, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Jeffrey Vandersay and Lahiru Madushanka. Pace spearhead Dushmantha Chameera, meanwhile, has been out after undergoing surgery in Australia recently with a long-term injury issue.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa – who was initially included in the squad – has requested his release in order to take a break from ODI cricket.

The team’s delayed announcement stems from the country’s sports minister’s refusal to ratify it – a requirement under Sri Lanka’s sporting regulations – until an explanation is given for Karunaratne’s abandonment.

Karunaratne has since been handed a suspended one-year ban for breaching Sri Lanka’s players’ agreement at the T20 World Cup in Australia. His omission from the squad followed a string of disappointing performances in the T20Is this year, despite receiving two player of the match awards at the ODI leg of the Australian series.

Lakshan was included replacing Karunaratne identically. The 24-year-old versatile bowler has been in fine form with the bat recently in Sri Lanka’s top-class setup, having burst onto the circuit initially in the inaugural edition of the LPL in 2020 with impressive performances at both with the bat and the ball. . He will no doubt be hoping to claim a more permanent place in Sri Lanka’s white ball team.

Another player to watch will be youngster Dunith Wellalage, who had a promising all-around performance against Australia earlier this year.

The in-form Kusal Mendis, meanwhile, will lead a batting unit that also includes Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashen Bandara and skipper Dasun Shanaka.

Wanindu Hasaranga, who is also capable with the bat, and Maheesh Theekshana will lead the spin bowling contingent, with Wellalage and de Silva providing support when needed.

Kumara, Rajitha, Pramod Madushan and Asitha Fernando will make up the pace attack, with Shanaka and Lakshan providing part-time options.

Crew: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Dananjaya Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Maheesh Theekshana, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Kumara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *